• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Got Discus!

Greengirl

Members
Due to unfortunate circumstances with Doug Gosnell's water, his discus fry keep dropping like flies, so now he gave them to me. I now have 20+ dime sized discus that have survived over 48 hours in my water and are eating bbs like there is no tomorrow. Their parents are a plain red female, and a glorious red snakeskin as big as a dinner plate!

I am new to discus, but it seems I can keep them alive. My question to you all is when do I start feeding them other food aside from BBS, and what? Do discus need to eat live all the time? And do I need to start color enhancing early? If I raise and sell these fry ok, I may buy the parents and start locally breeding them.

blkmjk

Members
I haven't ever kept discus but feeding them alot seems risky to me. I think 75% waterchanges on the daily are in order from what I've read. YSS should really chime in here.

Drew

Becca

Members
I haven't ever kept discus but feeding them alot seems risky to me. I think 75% waterchanges on the daily are in order from what I've read. YSS should really chime in here.

Drew

I think this is part of the issue with Discus. They do need to eat frequently, which is part of why they require lots of WC's.

How big are they? I'd imagine they could be fed similar foods to angel fry. I do recall being told they need lots of protein in their diet, but I don't know first-hand.

YSS

Members
If you are serious about breeding discus, you should go to simplydiscus.com and start reading more about raising discus fry. I have never tried breeding discus so I don't have first hand experience, but it's not easy and requires a lot of work. Good luck!

Greengirl

Members