• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Discuss Discus

gliebig

Members
I spent the day tearing down my office 125gal reef tank. Right now, I'm leaning towards making it a discus tank.

I used to have a few way back in the day in my old 55, but don't remember much about their needs. Any helpful hints you guys could give me regarding water parameters, food, temp, ph, aquascape, etc...anything I should know before starting.

How many should I keep in a 125gal? I was thinking discus and some tetras.

chris_todd

Members
Dang, hit save too early.

Sounds like fun, I'm jealous! I'm no Discus expert, but below is what I've learned.

If you get Discus from Hans (and why wouldn't you?), he raises them in Baltimore city tap water. So no special needs there.

82* F seems to be the optimal temp, so you need to pick tank mates that can handle that.

You can feed lots of different things, from blood worms to beefheart to flake to cichlid pellets (or at least, I have), but you should feed small quantities and more frequently than other tanks, because Discus have small bellies. Tank mate choice can be important there, too; don't pick fish that will out compete the Discus.

Frequent large water changes are also common. I wouldn't do less than 50% weekly, and 75% twice weekly shouldn't get too much argument from other Discus keepers.

I've always kept my Discus in planted tanks, but that's because I like planted tanks. Bare bottomed tanks can be good so you can easily remove uneaten food and other detritus.

Those are the basics of what I've learned, for what that's worth. As always, YMMV.

Sent from my iPhone using MonsterAquariaNetwork app

gliebig

Members
I should've done discus in my 240 and mbuna in the 125, oh well. Maybe I can talk my way into a bigger tank at the office. :-D

chris_todd

Members