Future cichlid tank

Thanatos

Hey all, I am new to the forum. I have been keeping new world cichlids for close to 10 years now and want to move into old world cichlids. I am working on a custom build 30"L x 36"W x 48"D tank that will be filled to 36" for a total of approximately 200 gallons. I want to keep a venustus cichlid for sure and was looking for advice on what would stock well with that. This tank is in the planning phase right now, so most everything can be modified. I have done research and have found only a few fish that work with venustus. Livingstone, yellow benga, red empress, sunshine peacock, and moori are what I have found. Are there any other options I should be considering.

My intention is to run a constant water change drip of 20% weekly change, as well as a 55 gallon or larger sump filtration set up. This will go along with any maintenance water changes I may need to do.

Let me know your opinions or any advice you may have.

Fmat24

CCA Members
The venustus that I have has actually mixed really well with the other peacocks, haps and mbunas that I have in the tank. He's actually the largest fish in the tank currently. I was a little hesitant when I got him b/c he is bigger than everyone else in the tank but he actually has a very mild temperament. I got him along with a VC10 at the same time and incorporated them both into the tank at the same time. They are inseparable, always swimming together.

Acara19

CCA Members